Breaking News
  • Breaking News Will Appear Here

Rebel BSP leader Swami Prasad Maurya resigns as MLA

 2016-08-27 07:03:14.0

BJP_LEADER_SWAMI PRASAD MAURYA Lucknow: Rebel BSP MLA Swami Prasad Maurya, who switched to BJP earlier this month, formally tendered his resignation as a BSP MLA on Friday. Maurya has been facing the prospect of disqualification from UP assembly after the BSP moved a petition on the ground that he had turned rebel and defected to another party. Once Maurya's resignation is accepted, the Padrauna assembly constituency will fall vacant. Speaking to reporters, Maurya said that he sent the resignation to UP assembly speaker on Friday. "I resigned because of democratic compulsions," he said. Maurya had been summoned by speaker Mata Prasad Pandey on August 16, but did not make a personal appearance. He was asked to appear again on August 23 but he then sent an application saying, "he was busy meeting his supporters". Pandey had then issued an ultimatum to Maurya asking him to respond by August 31, failing which the speaker's office would pass an order regarding Maurya's membership. Maurya had revolted against BSP chief Mayawati on June 22, accusing her of selling party tickets. His exit triggered a spate of rebellion within the BSP camp even as a host of other legislators started raising a banner of revolt against Mayawati. BSP legislative party leader Gaya Charan Dinkar said that Maurya's membership should be quashed from the date he resigned from the party. However, Vidhan Sabha sources said that as per Schedule 10 of the Constitution, Maurya will be disqualified from the date of issue of the speaker's order. Along with Maurya, other rebel BSP legislators will now face prospects of disqualification on similar grounds. In fact, legislators like Bala Awasthi, Romi Sahni and Brijesh Verma have already joined the saffron camp earlier this month. The BSP, sources said, will now press for disqualification/resignation of other rebel party MLAs.

  Similar Posts

Share it