Breaking News
  • Breaking News Will Appear Here

Crucial floor test : Indira Hridayesh says Congress confident of BSP support

 2016-05-10 05:10:54.0

downloadTahlka news Bureau,

Dehradun:��Crucial floor test in Uttarakhand where a Supreme Court-monitored floor test will take place in the Assembly on Tuesday.

Ahead of the trust�vote, sacked chief minister Harish Rawat got a major boost on Monday with the High Court dismissing the petition of nine Congress MLAs challenging their disqualification and the SC refusing to give any relief to them.

After excluding the nine disqualified MLAs, the Assembly has an effective strength of 61 members. Of that, the Congress has 27 MLAs on its own and claims the backing of six-member PDF to make the ruling side's figure of 33. Rawat needs the backing of 31 MLAs for a simple majority.

The BJP has 28 MLAs, including that of Bhim Lal Arya whose loyalty is in doubt. The PDF comprises two of BSP, one of Uttarakhand Kranti Dal and three Independents.

The floor test in the assembly will take place between 11am and 1 PM.

According to Pradesh18 sources, BSP chief Mayawati has assured Congress of support of her two MLAs there by giving a bit relief to Harish Rawat.

But going with BJP may prove detrimental for the BSP in the upcoming UP Assembly polls.

However, BSP has the option to abstain.

Meanwhile, elaborate security arrangements have been put in place around state assembly. Section 144 has been imposed and police barricaded all roads leading to the assembly.

Only MLAs and assembly staff will be allowed inside the assembly premises.

The MLAs will not be allowed to take their vehicles in the assembly premises and they will walk into the assembly from the gate. Besides, the legislators will not allowed to carry mobile phones inside the assembly.

Also media will not be allowed inside the assembly premises.

The proceedings will be vidoegraphed and court appointed observer Jaidev Singh, Principal Secretary Legislative Assembly and Parl Affairs will be present during the entire proceedings.

The division of votes will take place in the house with those in favour of Rawat on the right hand side of the speaker and those opposed on the other.

The MLAs will raise their hand in support of the motion.

The outcome will be communicated to the Supreme Court in a sealed envelope.

The BJP MLAs will walk from their hotel to the assembly in a march calling it �Save Democracy March�.

Meanwhile, Harish Rawat too will lead a march with his MLAs calling it �Justice March�.

With the Supreme Court on Monday giving no relief to nine disqualified rebel Congress legislators in Uttarakhand, the fate of ousted chief minister Harish Rawat's government now hinges on the six members of the Progressive Democratic Front (PDF) in the state.

The Uttarakhand High Court had on Monday dismissed the plea of the nine rebel Congress legislators challenging assembly speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal's decision to expel them from the house.

  Similar Posts

Share it