Breaking News
  • Breaking News Will Appear Here

Rajasthan by-polls 2017: BJP candidate Shobha Rani Kushwaha wins the Dholpur seat

 2017-04-13 11:27:58.0

Rajasthan by-polls 2017: BJP candidate Shobha Rani Kushwaha wins the Dholpur seat

JAIPUR: In Rajasthan, Bharatiya Janata Party's candidate Shobha Rani Kushwaha won by a whooping 36,673 votes after the counting round in the Dholpur Assembly by-polls on Thursday in a big boost to the party and Chief Minister Vasundhra Raje.

BJPs Shobha Rani Kushwaha won against Congress' Banwari Lal Sahrma, a veteran who has fought elections from Dhulpur but only five.

Kushavaha garnered 91,548 votes, while Sharma got 5,875 votes.

The by-elections for this seat was insisted after Bahujan Samaj Party legislator Banwari Lal Kushavah was disqualified as he was convicted in a murder case in 2016.The BJP then handed over the ticket to Banwari Lal Kushavah's wife Shobha Rani.

Meanwhile, the BJP leaders are giving credit to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, while the Congress was seen questioning the credibility of EVM.

Paliamentary Affairs Minister Rajendra Rathore and Health Minister Kalicharan Saraf said that the elections was contested on the development agenda and voters have come forward in the faviur of the party

"Development was our agenda and the trends have indicated that the people voted for the development," said Rathore, who along with other leaders invested in the Dhulpor campaigning.

Saraf said that people of Dholpur have voted for development and the party is going to win the seat.

"The elections was contested under he leadership of Chief Minister and we are going to win the seat," he said.

The BJP now has 163 seats in the 200-member state assembly.


  Similar Posts

Share it