Breaking News
  • Breaking News Will Appear Here

BMC Election Result: Shiv Sena celebrates its lead from 92 seats

 2017-02-23 09:46:18.0

BMC Election Result: Shiv Sena celebrates its lead from 92 seats

Tahlka News Desk

Mumbai: BMC election has been over in Mumbai results for poll will be declared today as Shiv Sena is celebrating its leads in 92 seats .BJP is on no. 2 ahead with 75 seats now. The Congress, second last time, has been crushed. Votes are also being counted in nine other major municipalities in Maharashtra. The Shiv Sena has controlled the BMC for the last 20 years, contesting along with ally BJP. This time they contested separately after the Sena called off the partnership ahead of the elections.

As of reports BJP is doing well in other municipalities in the state Pune wrest from Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party and is ahead in Solapur, Amravati, Nashik and Nagpur. The Shiv Sena is ahead in Mumbai suburb Thane.

Apart from control over megacity Mumbai, today's results will also decide a big prestige battle between the Shiv Sena's Udhav Thackeray and Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, who has said that he will take onus for a BJP loss but will credit the party for a victory.

The BMC has 227 seats. To win outright a party needs 114. Both the Sena and BJP have assessed internally that they could fall short of a majority.


  Similar Posts

Share it