Breaking News
  • Breaking News Will Appear Here

UP Election 2017: 11% voting recorded till 9 am in sixth phase

 2017-03-04 04:43:28.0

UP Election 2017: 11% voting recorded till 9 am in sixth phase

Tahlka News Desk
Lucknow: Polling in UP assembly election for 49 seats has begin today.11% voting have been recorded till 9 am in sixth phase of voting. BJP fire brand leader and MP from Gorakhpur Yogi Adityanath, and Mau, where jailed gangster turned MLA Mukhtar Ansari is in fray, also figure in this penultimate phase of pollin will also cover some districts of nepal border.

Around 1.72 crore voters, including 94.60 lakh men and 77.84 lakh women, are eligible to cast their votes in this round to decide the fate of 635 candidates including 63 women. The districts where polling is going on in the sixth phase are Mau, Gorakhpur, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh and Ballia.

UP Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency has 10 assembly seats, of which SP had won nine in 2012, but this time Mulayam has not addressed a single meeting in his parliamentary constituency. The prestige of Union minister Kalraj Mishra, who represents Deoria in the Lok Sabha, too is at stake, besides that of Adityanath.

Prominent candidates in this phase include BSP turncoat Swami Prasad Maurya from Padrauna (Kushinagar), former BJP state president Surya Pratap Shahi from Pathardeva (Deoria), Shyam Bahadur Yadav (SP), son of former Governor Ram Naresh Yadav from Fulpur Pawai (Azamgarh), SP turncoats Ambika Chowhdury and Narad Rai, who are contesting on BSP ticket from Fefna (Ballia) and Ballia Sadar.

Mukhtar is contesting from Mau and his son Abbas is in fray from adjoining Ghosi seat in Mau district. In the 2012 Assembly polls, of the 49 seats, 27 were won by the SP, 9 by BSP, 7 by BJP, 4 by Congress and 2 by others. There will be 17,926 polling booths and 10,820 polling centres in this phase.

The highest number of 23 candidates are contesting from Gorakhpur and the least candidates, numbering seven are in pitted for Mohammadabad Gohna seat in Mau district. Central Para Military Forces have already reached the constituencies and carried out flag march in sensitive areas.


  Similar Posts

Share it