Breaking News
  • Breaking News Will Appear Here

IANS journalist wins Press Council award

 2015-11-04 10:52:54.0

grimg-sfdc New Delhi:�(IANS) Sujit Chakraborty, who heads the IANS Tripura bureau, on Wednesday won the Press Council of India's National Award for Excellence in Journalism in the category of Rural Journalism and Developmental Reporting. Chakraborty shares the award with Vinoy Mathew of the Mathrubhumi newspaper of Kerala, a Press Council statement said.�Sharad Vyas of Mid Day has bagged the honour for investigative journalism while Shabaz Khan of PTI was selected for photo journalism in single news picture category. The award in photo feature category went to Tashi of The Indian Express, the statement said.�C.R. Sasikumar, also of the Indian Express, was selected for the award in the category of best newspaper art covering cartoons, caricature and illustrations. President Pranab Mukherjee will give away the awards on November 16 on the occasion of National Press Day.�The Press Council has instituted these awards to encourage ethical and responsible journalism, the statement said.

  Similar Posts

Share it