Breaking News
  • Breaking News Will Appear Here

Tamil Nadu: Edappadi Palaniswami wins trust vote after all the chaos in the Assembly

 2017-02-18 12:18:23.0

Tamil Nadu: Edappadi Palaniswami wins trust vote after all the chaos in the Assembly

CHENNAI: The E K Palaniswami government in Tmail Nadu on Saturday won the trust vote with 122 MLAs favouring him,
after the assembly witnessed chaos and eviction of 89 legislators who went demanding secret ballot.

Palaniswami won the confidence vote in the assembly where only AIADMK legeslators - MLA supporting party general secretaryand Chief Minister O Panneerselvam were present.

Whereas , the rebel AIADMK got only 11 votes.

There were no opposition legislators with DMK (88) and IUML (1) MLAs having been evicted and their ally Congress members walking out in protest.

The house was first assembled at 11am witnessed two adjournments after Speaker P Dhananpal said he would hold division vote. The opposition and rebel AIADMK leader O Panneerselvam's side instead on holding secret ballot.

DMK members gheraoed the Speaker, soon chairs started to flung , assembly notes torn, tables turned over and Dhanapal's microphone was broken as the DMK went on a rampage mode.

Dharampal expressed regret at how had been humiliated . "My shirt was torn," he said, before proceeding to evict 88 DMK MLA from the assembly for the unruly behaviour earlier.

Later, Palaniswami was allowed to move the vote of confidence motion in the floor. However, the DMK MLAs in no mood to obey and pushed around the watch adn ward staff. with chos not subsiding, Dhanapal adjourned the session till 3pm.

Earlier, when the session started, AIADMK's rebel MLA S Semmalai was first given the opportunity to speak. Semmalai, who is in the O Panneerselvam faction, produced a key and told the House that it belonged to the room at a resort in Koovathur where he had been kept "captive".

DMK members and Panneerselvam's rebels wanted speaker Dhanapal to hold the confidence vote on a later date and to conduct a secret ballot to prove majority. But, the speaker of the House denied their request.

DMK's J Anbazhagan criticised the urgency of the confidence vote and said that a "benami" government of VK Sasikala was in power in Tamil Nadu.

Panneerselvam repeated that MLAs had been held "captive" at the Golden Bay Resorts in Koovathur while former school education minister K Pandiarajan said that he received a phone call in which the caller threatened to throw acid at him, if he did not "stop interfering" in affairs.

Soon, things got out of hand for the Speaker as the DMK MLAs rushed to the well of the House. Poongothai Aladi Aruna stood up on the bench and argued with Dhanapal.

Moreover, the Speaker met with opposition parties in his chamber after the first adjournment. However, as he chose to evict the DMK members, the opposition stated a sit-in protests blockingn the assembly doors leading to the floor.

The traffic police blocked all vehicles leading to the Fort St George complex on Rajaji Salao after the second adjournment.

Meanwhile, Golden Bay Resorts in Koovarthur announced that they were shutting down the resort complex for "maintenance".


  Similar Posts

Share it