Breaking News
  • Breaking News Will Appear Here

Delhi MCD bypolls: Congress AAP win two wards each in Delhi

 2017-05-23 13:47:21.0

Delhi MCD bypolls: Congress AAP win two wards each in Delhi

Tahlka New Bureau

NEW DELHI: The Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) bagged one seat each in the Municipal Corporation Election of Delhi (MCD) by-polls, the State Election Commission (SEC) announced today. Congress' Mukesh Goel won from Sarai Pipal ward in North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NCMC) and AAPs Reshma won from Manipur ward of East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC).

Goel, also the Leader of Opposition in NDMC House, defeated BJP's Mangal Ram Sharma by a margin of 2,743 votes. While the Congress leader polled 10,946 votes. Reshma from AAP defeated Congress' Rekha Sharma by a margin of 699 votes.

Delhi has a total of 272 wards spread across North, South and East Delhi municipal corporations. Polling in these two wards were canceled due to the death of Samajwadi Party candidates there. While Maujpur went to polls on May 14, by-elections for the Sarai Pipal ward was held on May 21.

BJP have managed a massive victory in the MCD elections in Delhi bagging majority votes in all three Muncipal Corporations. This is the third consecutive term by BJP in the Delhi MCD. On the other hand, AAP, which was contesting the election came second, followed by Congress party.

The MCD election results also escalated the matter of EVM controversy with AAP claiming the machines were tampered with which helped the BJP win an easy majority. On which the BJP have rubbished the allegations. However, the Election Commission of India have thrown an open challenge to prove the allegations.


  Similar Posts

Share it