Breaking News
  • Breaking News Will Appear Here

Yogi in Action: Yash Bharti awardees in trouble

 2017-04-21 07:13:28.0

Yogi in Action: Yash Bharti awardees in trouble

Tahlka News Desk
Lucknow: Newly elected CM led by Modi government UP CM Yogi Adityanath has ordered an investigation into state's top most award 'Yash Bharti' proposed by SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav over two decades ago and given to famous personalities. The award was started in 1994 by Mulayam Singh to honour the prominent personalities who have done the great work in the field of Sports, Literature and Culture and made the state proud.

During his son Akhilesh Yadav's government, there were allegations that the prize - Rs. 11 lakh cash and 50,000 monthly pension was being handed out arbitrarily, mainly for the financial benefit.

Sources say if the inquiry establishes "misuse" of the award, the 50,000 monthly pension may be cancelled for recipients.

Some "Yash Bharti" winners like the Bachchan family - Harivansh Rai Bachchan, Amitabh Bachchan, Jaya Bachchan, Abhishek and Aishwarya Rai - have not taken the pension and other names are: Shubha Mudgal, Kailash Kher, Bhuwaneshwar Kumar, Ravindra Jain, Rita Ganguly, Arunima Sinha, Nawazuddin Siddiqui and Naseeruddin Shah
and later when Mayawati came to the power, she discontinued the award.

In 2012, when Akhilesh Yadav took office after winning a huge victory for his Samajwadi Party, he reinstated the award but this time, there were many questions and controversies.

Even as he faced questions about his choice of winners, Akhilesh Yadav was accused of going too far when during one award ceremony held at the new Chief Minister's headquarters Lok Bhawan in Lucknow, he announced the honour for the woman emcee on the spot.

Two staffers in the Samajwadi Party office were also named for the award - for "excellence in journalism".

Sources say the new Chief Minister has told officials that honouring undeserving candidates has undetermined the value of the award.

New Cm Yogi Adityanath has been on a mission to clean up the administration and has subjected schemes of past governments led by Mulayam Singh, Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav to intense scrutiny.


  Similar Posts

Share it